Monday, January 27, 2014

2014 Caldecott Medal and Honors

Hooray! Hooray!  Locomotive by Brian Floca took the Caldecott Medal for 2014. It just happens to be my favorite picture book of 2013.


Honors were awarded to Journey by Aaron Becker


Flora and the Flamingo  by Molly Idle

Flora and the Flamingo

and Mr. Wuffles! by David Wiesner.

Mr Wuffles

One thing that is interesting to me is that all of the illustrators are also the authors of the stories. In Brian Floca’s case, that includes a written story but just because the other three books are wordless, it doesn’t mean that they don’t tell a story. Aaron Becker has a video on his website about the creation of his book Journey. Congratulations to all!

No comments:

Post a Comment